poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Jan. 16, 2008 . Time: 7:42 p.m.

united apologizes . . . to me Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

united apologizes . . . to me

I have been diverted from many a flight and gotten a free ticket or two. I have never, however, received a letter of apology from an airline . . . until today!

Today, I got a letter in the mail from United apologizing for "inconvenience and disappointment" I was caused due to the "diversion and cancellation" of my flight. They realize it must have been "frustrating and uneasy."

The cancellation bit makes me wonder if the flight ever got to Roa*noke. As I mentioned before, I hopped ship at Tri-cities (otherwise known as the absolute middle of nowhere). When I got to Roanoke by rental car several hours later, the flight was scheduled to arrive in half an hour; I wonder if it ever flew, and if not, how the rest of the people on the plane got home.

In any event, a $100 discount coupon was enclosed, which covers my rental car expense and leaves about $30 to spare. ;) Paltry, but I still fill a little vindicated. I've had a lot of bad airline experiences, but this one was one of the worst due mostly to my week stomach.

7:42 p.m. - Jan. 16, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

suffrage

Another person's opinion. Issues like treatment of women in the military and prostitution are so far removed from my life, I don't give them much thought. But, for the record, I think should prostitution should be illegal - and enforced. I'm often surprised at how many people, especially men, take the opposite opinion. One is tempted to say, "This is just the way it is." I think that's untrue, however, because look how much better and worse things can get in different states and countries.

In a piece of good news, women's suffrage comes to Kuw*ait. I don't remember hearing much about the fact that women couldn't vote when we were "rescuing" Kuw*ait from Ir*aq back in the day. "[The law] was passed by 35 votes for, 23 against, with one abstention. Council elections are due this year." Unbelievable - 39% voted AGAINST suffrage! Sick.

More from the article:
"Kuwait's ruler Sheikh Jabir al-Ahmad al-Sabah issued a decree giving women full political rights in 1999.

The change in the law, which was agreed at the end of a 10-hour session, had previously been blocked by a majority of tribal and Islamist members of parliament. "

6:17 p.m. - Jan. 15, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

yale

The changes these universities are making are great. They will make a huge difference for many middle class families.

2:35 p.m. - Jan. 14, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric