poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: May. 08, 2008 . Time: 11:43 a.m.

hungry, lazy Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hungry, lazy

It's weird. I know a lot of women casually who are having babies, but none of my close friends from high school, college, or graduate school have had even one child. Of my good friends from graduate school, none are even engaged, never mind with child. I guess what they say about the inverse relationship between education and marriage often is true, or maybe it's just the type of people I attract and am attracted to as friends.

Still, it takes very little time to go from single to married with child. For many, falling in love seems to happen very fast. Mutually so. It sometimes makes me wonder if when that DOESN'T happen, if something is wrong. If you've been with someone more than a year and you haven't mutually decided you'd like to marry (even if you're not officially engaged) does that mean you should call it quits?

I go through cycles of healthiness and unhealthiness. I think running is very good for me, because when I run I need to eat. However, when I don't run and just sit at my desk all day, I usually just ignore the hunger pangs and rely on unhealthy snacks. If I could change one thing about where I work, I'd add a cafeteria. I work in a really nice place with many amenities and many free snacks, but I'd love to be able to buy a hot lunch (or even a cold one) without going out. I know I need to just make myself lunches, of course. I suppose I'll probably reform my ways if I ever have a kid. Even when I hang out with B, he demands that we eat regular meals. This is a general pattern in guys I've dated. For some reason, they get very grumpy when meals are skipped.

11:43 a.m. - May. 08, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

exit polls in North Carolina

North Carolina! What a great state. My neighbor of sorts. Some jewels from the exit polls.

1.) On the surface, it seems Obama won across the board. After all, he won regardless of gender, income level, church attendance, and education. And yet . . .
2.) 60% of White Dems voted for Hillary; only 36% of White Dems voted for Obama. (Presumably the remaining 4% voted for their native son.) 91% of African-Americans voted for Obama.
3.) In most states, those that thought gender was important voted for Hillary - one concludes they are excited about the possibility of having a woman in office. In NC, however, both men and women voted for Obama if they thought gender was important. (53% to 42%)
4.) Only 20% of voters admitted gender was important, and 17% said race was important.
5.) 30% of North Carolinians describe themselves as other Christian as opposed to Catholic or Protestants. People who called themselves Protestant and NOT other Christian voted for Hillary. Those who called themselves Protestant when not given other Christian as an option voted for Obama. What does THAT mean?
6.) 60 and older like Clinton. 59 and younger like Obama.
7.) Age 17 - 29, unlike other age groups, like Obama regardless of race.

5:13 p.m. - May. 06, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

free market argument

A fascinating argument for free market based on a micro-experiment in Taxachusetts.

1:26 p.m. - May. 06, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this weekend

I'm ending another weekend with really sore arms. I'm not sure if it's from gardening or attempting to throw rocks across the Middle Fo*rk Sno*qualmie River. Saturday, I gardened like a fiend - weed wacking, mulching, weeding, hedge trimming, and transplanting seedlings into my garden. It's a little early, but I'm gambling in hopes we won't have a frost this week.

Sunday, we had a nice hike through a very mossy woods along a trail that passed near the MFS River frequently. My only complaint is that getting there required 9 miles of driving on a badly pot-holed dirt road. I'm not sure if the state maintains these roads or not, but many of them are barely driveable and no doubt becoming less driveable with every passing year. Will many of them eventually be returned to nature? That wouldn't be the end of the world if they were closed to ALL traffic and could be hiked on.

8:29 a.m. - May. 05, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

generationism

I admire Chel*sea Clinton. I think I was won over when I heard she wrote her senior thesis on the peace process in N. Ire*land. Anyway, I read this article which claims she's out of touch with her generation. The guy who writes it is 29. He says:

Chelsea has been winning kudos in this campaign as an effective surrogate for Hillary Rodham Clinton, but I keep wondering whether she's an effective representative for us. Like me, Chelsea's a twentysomething (28 to my 29), a member of the generation that, as it happens, I spend a lot of time learning and writing about. We're ironic, sarcastic and self-deprecating, a reflection of the pop culture and politics that played out while we grew up in the 1980s, 1990s and onward. We were weaned on Chevy Chase movies ("Spies Like Us," of course, being the best), grunge and MTV's "The Real World" (seasons 1 and 2 only, please) and trained by the Onion, Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert to detect spin in the most banal comments. People my age shed privacy at the nearest high-speed Internet connection and, more often than not, display the very grown-up qualities of self-awareness and self-reflection.

If he knows what he's talking about it, I'm totally out of touch. Ironic, sarcastic and self-deprecating, maybe; that's a little ambiguous. However, I've never seen Chevy Chase. I don't even know what he looks like. I only saw the Real World once or twice. I don't (and never have) read the Onion. I'm not 100% sure who Jon Stewart is, and I really have no idea who the Colbert guy is. Are they on that comedy politics show? I never got the Comedy channel, so I've never seen it.

Am I out of it? I actually feel very in touch with my generation - certainly compared to the text-messaging, MySpacers of today, or the ancients of yesterday.

11:03 a.m. - May. 04, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric