poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Dec. 11, 2007 . Time: 3:29 p.m.

anywhere Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

anywhere

I have such a love-hate relationship with work. There are things about it that I really, really enjoy and that I feel I might be unable to find at most other working places, especially at most large corporations. During any given day, there are usually things that go really, really well - I get challenged and have the opportunity to work on really interesting, unique things and projects. Going down to TX is just one of the cool things.

Other times, though, I hate it. I get so stressed, and I feel pain in my stomach like I'm getting an ulcer or something. I just want to leave and never, ever come back. I just feel like the situation is untenable.

Often, the latter comes from interpersonal issues. I find it a little ironic that there's so much "politics" in the office. Maybe it's because the rules of play are so vaguely defined. In school, you are all competing against each other and someone else's failure directly contributes to your success (I'm thinking grad school here), and yet I can't remember ever having any difficulty with a classmate - ever. Work is the opposite - you're all working towards the same goal.

Anyway, the ulcer moments make me want to go somewhere, anywhere else, but I'm not sure where.

3:29 p.m. - Dec. 11, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mile by mile

The day I'm going to travel, I'm always stressed from morning to night. The stress usually starts the night before, actually. Usually, it's completely unwarranted.

Today's travel was worse than average, though not terrible. I couldn't find my work ID card this morning, and it's basically a necessity in TX. I had to make a trip back home before finally finding it in my car, but I was by now running about 30 minutes later than I like to for airport arrival. Then, I couldn't find a parking space. Instead of 5 minutes, it took 15. Next, security was a nightmare and I chose the wrong line. It's the worst I've seen it in a while, much worse than Thanks*giving. By the time I got to my gate, they were boarding seating area 4. I had 10 to 15 minutes to spare before the door was closed for good, but showing up that late is not my style. I didn't have time to use the bathroom or buy water to address my ear issues.

Then I get on the plane and an obese man is sitting next to me who feels free to take up half of my seat. I've experienced worse, but this was definitely annoying. To top things off, I really had to use the bathroom (as mentioned above) and we had mild turbulence so the seatbelt signs were on throughout the flight. Ack.

Phoenix offered a nice breather and time for an unhealthy lunch before boarding the El Pa*so flight. The only interesting spot on the flight occurred near the end when the flight briefly got quite rough. They'd been late passing out the beverages due to early turbulence and then decided to pick them up early due to late turbulence leaving me chugging my can of ginger ale while the flight attendant went from row to row bracing herself against the seats so as not to fall over. Still, air travel over. Woo hoo!

Next step, 2 hours of driving. I quite enjoy the drive in the daylight, but it was pitch black tonight . . . and pouring rain for about 2/3 of it. Not fun.

Oh, it's good to be done for the day.

10:10 p.m. - Dec. 10, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric