poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Apr. 03, 2009 . Time: 9:04 a.m.

presidents and hdoas Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

presidents and hdoas

When Ob ama was running and -elect, I feel that the fact he was black was always there - constantly mentioned and debated. Reporters were rather obsessed with the history that was being made. Now that he's actually president, people are rightly more interested in the economy, the deficit, Afghanista n and so on - as they should be. It's a good transition. One the one hand, it is a big deal that we have a black president. On the other hand, it really isn't, and shouldn't be, a big deal at all, and I think it's cool that it is becoming - at least in my perception - a non-issue.

I have become a dedicated church-goer in recent months, thanks to my impending nuptuals. This Sunday is Eas ter, of course. For the first time in years, I'll be going to mass as a regular, not as an outsider. (I don't really think anyone knows me except the priest, so it doesn't really matter.) I determined from online research that Holy Thur sday and Good Fri day are not actually holy days of ob ligation. Woo hoo. I've been having a hard time keeping up with work lately thanks to vacation planning and vacation and wedding planning, so it's too less days I have to leave early.

9:04 a.m. - Apr. 03, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric