poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Mar. 20, 2009 . Time: 8:23 a.m.

insolvency Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

insolvency

I find myself yawning about the hullaballoo over the AIG bonuses. I get a lot more upset when hearing about our projected 2 trillion dollar deficit. Deficit. I remember when my Dad was upset in the 80s about a 3 trillion dollar debt. I don't care how much trouble the economy is in. A 2 trillion dollar deficit sounds like a big problem to me - a new manufactured problem. Congress has basically spent more time hemming and hawing over the 400 million in bonuses as they did about signing over 700 Billion last year. Has any of it done any good? Have they averted a terrible collapse? Maybe. Maybe not. Who knows. What we do know, however, is that we're risking bankruptcy and insolvency. I'm the type of person who spends within my means. Why does the government feel compelled, no matter what the political party, to do the opposite? The Republicans had done a nice job over the last years of making their party out to be the irresponsible big spenders. Now O is doing his best to prove to us that in fact the Dems are much, much worse.

8:23 a.m. - Mar. 20, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric