poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Mar. 19, 2009 . Time: 12:58 p.m.

el viaje Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

el viaje

I'm feeling about a thousand times better today than yesterday, and I felt much better yesterday than the day before. The eye thing Tuesday morning was really scary. It still kind of weirds me out. I guess my body was even more exhausted than I knew.

Vacation was crazy - full of ups and downs. I got there and didn't feel well. Who knows why - probably a combination of factors. Then, I started feeling better, and I really enjoyed my second two days in Cusco.

Next came the hike. The first day was a bit of a struggle for me, for whatever reason. I thoroughly enjoyed the 2nd and 3rd days of the hike, and I didn't find them particularly physically strenuous. Apparently climbing Tiger every weekend actually made a difference. The weather was cloudy and rainy, but I really didn't mind. I was part of a fun group, and our guides were great.

Finally, we got to Machu Picchu. It was really unbelievable. It exceeded my expectations. I'd love to go back and spend a week just at Machu Picchu. What a spot. It was like something you'd read about in a book, not a real place. We also went to the hot springs in Aguas Calientes, which was a lot of fun, though I wonder if that's where I picked up stomach bug #2.

The next day, I woke up sick with diarrhea, and so began a very arduous trip home. We were in Lima that night, and I didn't really enjoy it. I'm not a big city person, and the place generally made me nervous. I felt like we were going to get mugged or something.

I took lots of photos, though I didn't take my SLR on the hike. Hopefully, I'll get organized and go through them over the next week or so.

I have not exactly been wedding blogging lately, but I do plan to start very soon. There is so much going on! Being back at work is hard. My heart isn't really in it.

12:58 p.m. - Mar. 19, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric