poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Mar. 10, 2009 . Time: 5:56 p.m.

the night before Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the night before

I have survived another day in Cusco. I feel better than I did yesterday, though still definitely not 100%. Regardless, I�m doing the hike, for better or for worse. I hope I don�t come to regret this decision. We�ve been packing, packing, and our bags are HEAVY. Bare essentials are not light.

We saw the Sexy Woman today, and otherwise mostly prepared for the trip. It�s off for dinner now, and I will be trying not to get too nervous tonight. Our tourmates seem to be a rather hippy-like crew so far. We shall see.

5:56 p.m. - Mar. 10, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

en peru

I�m in Peru! I came down with some kind of bug on the way over, so the first two days were . . . challenging. Bug + altitude + jet lag equals great discomfort. However, I�m feeling much better today, and we enjoyed checking out the ruins and market at Pisac. I bought some kind of Alpaca blanket for half nothing, which was nice. The ruins were stunning. I couldn�t believe the path in a couple places, a hair raising staircase and a rather long rock tunnel. You don�t see that kind of thing in Seattle.

I�m definitely nervous about the trek, given that I�ve been feeling less than 100%. We�ll see how it goes, I guess. Hopefully the hiking and running I did will help. It certainly hasn�t helped so far.

Cusco is small but interesting. We�ve been to all the major siteseeing destinations. My favorite so far was the Santa Domingo area.

Most people speak at least functional English but I�m still glad I studied the Spanish I did . It�s been very occasionally useful.

We met some of the people we�ll be hiking with today . One guy has been travelling around S. America for a year. there was a time when I would ahve been really envious. That time has passed, however. Doing that would mean leaving the bf and the dog. I�ve also grown more accustomed to my creature comforts.

7:16 p.m. - Mar. 09, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

please

This is absolutely absurd. You can tell the rule was made by a bunch of old guys.

2:56 p.m. - Mar. 05, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

on running

A nice article about the gains women have made in running. Let's not forget what Title IX has meant to all of us females. I'm not sure I would have made it through middle school with my mind intact without sports.

Quotes:

Nina Kuscsik, the first woman to run in the New York Marathon and the first woman to win the Boston Marathon, in 1972, knew she was an oddity running on the streets in Brooklyn.

�If I went out to run and it rained, the police would stop me,� she said. �They thought I was running away from something.�

The sad thing is that in many, many parts of the world, a woman (and sometimes man) cannot safely walk on the street by herself, never mind run.


8:43 a.m. - Feb. 28, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wedding jabber

I've decided to follow Sar*ah's good example and start a wedding blog. Interested in reading it? Leave your e-mail in the comments, and I'll send you a link or e-mail me at omeara at gmail dot com. Woo hoo!

5:56 p.m. - Feb. 26, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric