poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Jan. 31, 2009 . Time: 12:43 p.m.

disaster day Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

disaster day

Yesterday was a crazy day. First, an earthquake, and then, right outside my building (several colleagues saw this through the window, a train crashed into a car carrier that had stalled on the tracks. The biggest intersection in the city (of Kent) was still closed 5 hours later when I was trying to get home.

12:43 p.m. - Jan. 31, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

market

The DOW closed this week the lowest it has in a very long time - lower than it closed any time last year, even at its worst in the October, November timeframe. It's not a good start to the year or the new regime.

11:44 a.m. - Jan. 31, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

resolved

I've been trying to come up with New Year's resolutions without much success. Last year, it was more obvious for some reason. Here's what I've come up with:

1.) Run at least 25 miles / month.

I upped this from 20 miles per month last year, and I found this really effective. I have a habit of running a lot, then getting sick, and not running a step for a couple of months. Last year, I never stopped running completely, the first I've managed that since about 1999.

2.) Eat fast food no more than three time a month.

This refers to McDonald's, etc. I have a real weakness for fast food. I think it's OK occasionally, but I'd happily eat it daily given the opportunity, and I know that's not good for me.

3.) Go on a real vacation.

I didn't manage this last year, but this year, it's going to happen.

4.) Move on.

Maybe I'll come up with more. We'll see.


10:31 a.m. - Jan. 30, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric