poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Nov. 25, 2008 . Time: 9:05 a.m.

going home Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

going home

It is my last day of work for the better part of a week. I'm feeling slightly exhausted and a little overwhelmed. Work pressure, impending airline joy, and more work pressure occasionally get to me. I just get exhausted at the thought of having to provide for, feed, and generally take care of myself for the next 60 years or so, optimistically.

My grandmother is still in the hospital. It turns out she had a series of small strokes. They have put her on blood thinners, so most likely she won't have more. Anyway, the strokes damaged her vision and her memory. She is sometimes confused, and very frail since she hadn't been taking care of herself properly. The bottom line, according to my parents, is that she'll have to go to some kind of rehab center to get her strength back and re-learn anything she may have forgotten. She, of course, just wants to go home.

9:05 a.m. - Nov. 25, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tenure

Interesting article on an education reformer in DC. I'm curious to see how things shake out. In theory, I'm a big believer in merit-based pay. If I were a teacher, I *think* I'd gladly forgo tenure in return for more money. I'd expect that I wouldn't end up at the bottom of the bucket. However, it's hard to know for sure if you're not there.

3:43 p.m. - Nov. 23, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric