poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Nov. 06, 2008 . Time: 11:42 a.m.

jurassic Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

jurassic

I remember clearly reading Jurassic Park for the first time. I was in fifth grade, and my parents gave it to me as a gift. I thought it was about the best book I'd ever read. It was the type of book I treasured, one chapter at a time. (There have been a few like that - you know the kind where each chapter is like a work of art in itself and is to be consumed carefully? I can't actually remember the last book I read in that way.) Then, when the movie came out, my best friend and I went to see it together. She had changed schools, and it was one of the last times we hung out. I remember liking the movie a lot as well, though maybe not quite as much as the book.

Anyway, I was sorry to hear that Michael Crich*ton had died. Thinking about Juras*sic Park makes me a bit nostalgic for my childhood.

11:42 a.m. - Nov. 06, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

celebration

From the running website I visit, which often features articles from African papers, due to the running connection, different perspectives on Obama's election - slaughtering a bull in celebration, and switching from solar to electric power, and hopes of improvement in tourism. I'd love to go to Ken*ya personally, but the violence after the last elections was definitely scary.

9:00 a.m. - Nov. 06, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric