poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Oct. 31, 2008 . Time: 8:24 a.m.

not my scene Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

not my scene

This morning, NPR played a chant at a rally, "Joe the Plumb*er, da, da, da da da." It made me want to puke. I have nothing against Joe the Plumb*er, but I hardly think he's worth cheering for. Cheering and shrieking and yelling at political rallies in general makes me nauseous. All the women shrieking like they want to marry him, and the men hooting and hollering? Shoot me now. Definitely not my scene.

8:24 a.m. - Oct. 31, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

fear

Obama fear, from the FT.

6:36 p.m. - Oct. 30, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

docs

I thought this was an interesting article about wait times in an ER. 3.5 hours sounds reasonable as I'm sitting here healthy and happy at my desk, but I bet it would be torture if you were feeling rotten. When I was down in TX and got food poisoning or whatever it was and couldn't stop throwing up, when we finally decided I had to go to a doctor, we had to drive to 3 urgent care places before we found one that would take my insurance. It probably took no more than an hour and a half - and I thought I would die. However, I instantly felt better when we finally found a place that would take me, even though I had to wait another 20 minutes.

Despite having a hard time finding a place that would take my insurance, I thought the urgent care system in Tex*as was fantastic. I haven't been able to find any place like that near where I live. Basically your choices are to make an appointment to see a doctor or go to the ER. If anyone knows different - let me know!

I'll never forget the last time I got sick at GT. I made an appointment in person. They wrote down the appointment for me. I showed up 15 minutes early and was informed my appointment was 1/2 an hour ago, so they couldn't see me. Since I was sick, it had been a torturous trek to the place in the first place, and I wouldn't have gone unless I was feeling really awful. I dragged myself home, found the notice the nurse had written for me, and discovered they were wrong. The appointment was at the time I'd thought, and they'd put it in the computer wrong.

3:17 p.m. - Oct. 30, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric