poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Sept. 29, 2008 . Time: 6:17 p.m.

money Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

money

Is Wall Street a man's game? In this photo slide show from the Post, very few women showed up. Of the people pictured in the slide show about the crash, nearly all were men. Nancy Pel*osi was the lone woman to show up who wasn't a passerby. The traders are men. The people with their faces in their hands are men. Why is money such a men's game? (Why is everything such a men's game?)

6:17 p.m. - Sept. 29, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bail

I never could decide whether I wanted the bailout to pass or not. On balance, I was leaning towards wanting it to pass, simply because I have a lot of money invested in the market and because I think it's possible many of the "bad" mortgages to be bought were undervalued. Also, I supported the ban on golden parachutes and the lack of bailing out homeowners. However, I had very strong reservations about the nerve of Paulson and company asking for that much money in that much of a hurry and expecting to not have to justify things properly. Who do they think they are? Bush had to come on hands and knees asking for his annual 80 billion for the war. I'm not sure I think any two men should have as much power as Paulson and Bernanke seemed to want. So, I'm OK with the failure.

However, I'm waiting with bated breath to see what will happen. My Dad was telling me that the Ir*ish stock market has fallen 60% in the last year. Reading about the Japa*nese recession of the 80s is scary. I do not want this type of thing to happen here.

11:52 a.m. - Sept. 29, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

x

Great news! It's nice when things go right.

8:51 a.m. - Sept. 29, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric