poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Sept. 25, 2008 . Time: 7:57 a.m.

visitors Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

visitors

My parents arrived at about 9:00 PM last night. Traffic at the airport is insane due to construction. It took about 30 minutes to drive around after I missed them the first time.

I'm tuckered out today. I had to get to work before 6, and I'm dogsitting, and the dog was up sick at 2:30 AM and at 5:00 AM. I'm afraid it's because of the lamb chop bone I gave him yesterday.

The hours before my parents arrived yesterday were spent frantically cleaning my house and car. If I have time today, I should really take my car to the car wash. I'm an adult, but I still feel I have to please my parents in so many ways. I don't know many people who host their parents for two solid weeks every year, but then, most people don't live 3000 miles away. If we lived closer, we might be more real with each other. Because we live so far, I make the effort and play the dutiful daughter for the necessary two weeks. I'm glad they come visit. In many ways, it seems insane to see them only for 3 weeks a year (1 week at Chr*istmas is the third week.) They're still completely healthy and are enjoying retirement, so I appreciate our time together.

It wasn't that long ago that my grandparents and other relatives in NY and Ire*land were roughly the same age as my parents are now. Now those people are in their 80s and 90s, and frankly it's heartbreaking. Watching the people I love age really kills me. Watching myself age, of course, is also depressing.

7:57 a.m. - Sept. 25, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric