poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Aug. 20, 2008 . Time: 10:13 p.m.

phelps phan Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

phelps phan

It's hard to describe how Michael Phelps makes me feel. I think I have a quasi-crush on him, something that doesn't usually afflict me when it comes to celebrities. (I think the last was Leo Dicraprio when I was 16!). In any event, this letter to the editor of the Sea*ttle Times was nice:


For all of the excitement, splendor and grand spectacle of Michael Phelps' performance at the Beijing Olympics, nothing can compare to his humble statement at the end of his eighth gold-medal race: "There's so much emotion ... I kind of just want to see my mom" [page one, Aug. 17].

Cute.

It's nice to be inspired by an athlete. N*BC has cut down on their soppy specials, but the brief coverage of MP showed that all he does is eat (a lot), sleep and swim. I guess you switch out the word "swim" and that probably describes many Olympic athletes.

It's great to see an American win so convincingly without being raucous or obnoxious. He makes it look easy, but the "failures" of so many other athletes billed for perfection in swimming and other sports makes it very clear that it is not, in fact, easy.

Suffice it to say that I was definitely swept up in Phelps mania. The media campaign worked and how - but it took an amazing athlete and person to make it work.

10:13 p.m. - Aug. 20, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

misfortune

I made the mistake of flipping through the pictures in the CNN article about the plane crash. One of a distraught woman at the destination "being comforted" by some unknown person (airline personnel?) about made me want to puke. How can anyone comfort her? There were, apparently, maybe 26 survivors of 170 people. Most likely her loved one is dead, and there is nothing anyone can do.

11:55 a.m. - Aug. 20, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric