poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Aug. 12, 2008 . Time: 8:05 a.m.

tape delay Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tape delay

Sarah's comment on the last entry was rather eye-opening. As I watch the Olympics, LIVE is plastered on the right-hand corner of my screen. However, according to this, it's not actually live! Now, I actually have no problem with watching things on tape delay. In fact, I WISH they'd tape delay and put things on at a reasonable hour.

However, it seems what's currently happening is (a) they're lying to us and (b) they're putting things on really late! Around work, people are talking about sleep deprivation from watching the Olypmics. Basically, they start putting the good stuff on at around 11 or 11:30 PM! It's crazy. Why in the world would you tape delay a really cool relay and show it after midnight???

Anyway, it just so happens that I get the CBC. I'd forgotten about this, actually, but I watched a fair amount of Olympics on it when they were in Athens. Maybe they show things at a more reasonable hour. (Since I don't get USA, it's also kind of useful to have a second channel with Olympics on it.)

In summary, I don't care about the tape delay but it really pisses me off that they'd put a "Live" tag on stuff that isn't live! And, I wish they'd play stuff before midnight.

8:05 a.m. - Aug. 12, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric