poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Aug. 11, 2008 . Time: 8:26 a.m.

olympics day 1 Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

olympics day 1

Talking about the Olympics . . .


The 4x100m freestyle relay was seriously about the coolest thing I have ever seen. On a whim, I decided to stay up until about 11:30 to watch it, and I am so glad I did. It was unbelievable. The commentators totally didn't give the Americans a chance, and with 50m to go, they were half a length behind. The French anchor was the world record holder, and the commentators didn't have much to say about Lezak. Then Lezak just started moving up on the French swimmer. I was sitting alone on my couch cheering (out loud) for Lezak. I didn't think it was possible but he just kept moving up - and then out-touched the French swimmer at the very end. This is the French swimmer who said the French would "smash" the Americans. It was awesome. I felt like breaking into a rousing USA chant.

Anyway. I am loving the Olympics. I also enjoyed watching the gymnastics preliminaries last night. So far the coverage of gymnastics has been OK, but not great. I've been following Nas*tia Liu*kin on and off since undergrad - that's more than 6 years for those who are counting. Gymnastics just blows my mind. My sister and I used to fanatics when we were younger. She had all these tapes she'd recorded throughout the years. We knew the names of just about every gymnast for Russia, Romania and of course the US in that timeframe. She'd turn it on in the morning before cross country meets to psych herself up. Anyway, it's not as much fun watching by myself, but I'm still enjoying it.

8:26 a.m. - Aug. 11, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what you see

I wonder if people at work judge me differently because I'm female. I don't feel like they do; I feel like I'm mostly treated the same as everyone else. I don't think I act differently in any way than the men. People in my group have diverse interests, and though some of my interests (ie knitting) veer toward the feminine, I don't feel like that makes a difference.

It's hard to ignore ingrained perceptions of gender, though. You know people haven't forgotten because they do "nice" things like open doors and just behave differently in social settings in subtle ways. So are there subtle differences in business interactions as well?

One thing that's cool about my group is that it has evolved (through hiring) into a very young group, and most are single or dating / married to working or professional women, with one exception. I think that affects people's perceptions and behaviors.

I do perceive more "different" treatment from some of the older members of the company, but I interact with these people less often, and it could be my perception of them coloring my interpretation of their actions.

8:38 a.m. - Aug. 07, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric