poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Apr. 22, 2008 . Time: 4:16 p.m.

they love me, they love me not Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

they love me, they love me not

The media continues to love on Obama . . . except the WSJ.

4:16 p.m. - Apr. 22, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

interesting blog

I love this blog post. I am actually enjoying this blog in general.

The author was ranting about workplace health requirements. I remember working in Ire*land and having to "pass" a physical to get my desk job. I had to lift the odd silicon wafer, but really, I could have been very unhealthy and done my job just fine. In order to get the physical, because there were no "qualified" doctors in the town I was living in, I had to travel to Dubl*in, leaving early in the morning and getting back late at night. The expedition probably took at least 14 hours. I remember the doc gave me a hard time - and not in a friendly way - about my weight (being underweight) and my hearing. Anyway, I'm not sure if that sort of thing is even legal in this country. I certainly haven't been asked to pass anything other than a drug test for any other job I've taken.

2:34 p.m. - Apr. 22, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no food

Ever wonder which state out of the 50 had the highest gasoline taxes? California, you cry! But no, my friend, Washington state claims the honor. Our tax is 36 cents a gallon. With gas at $3.70 or so, it's no longer as significant as it used to be. No doubt when all's quiet on the Western front (ie the crying over gas prices dies off a bit), they'll raise the tax to be more consistent with the former *percentage.*

The gas barely affects me since I live 2 miles from work and drive a fuel-efficient vehicle. I probably fill my tank about once a month. B and I drive a fair amount on the weekends, but it's affordable.

As for increased food prices, food actually rose less than the average inflation rate in Washington last year - roughly 4.5% vs. 4.7%. I definitely spend a lot of money on food, probably too much. Last time I went to the store, it cost $80. I always buy the cheapest available of a given product, but a lot of the products I buy are expensive - Brie, brown whole-grain bread, free-range eggs, avocados, non-concentrate OJ. I should probably go back to concentrate.

I have been enjoying frozen vegetables lately. They have it all - tasty, easy to prepare, cheap, don't spoil. I think the taste thing is what surprised me the most. I started out by adding cheddar (extra-sharp), but now I find I like them just fine even without the cheddar. I am also amazed by how little of the grocery store is devoted to frozen veggies - one tiny section of the frozen food cabinet next to miles of pre-packaged meals and snacks of various kinds. My favorites are brussel sprouts and spinach. I find it hard to work up an appetite for broccoli and peas, and I shudder at the sight of corn. Bleagh.

I recently added a food processor and an electric egg-beater to my kitchen supplies. I am thoroughly enjoying both items. The former works so much better for many items than a blender does, and the latter has made whipped cream and various egg white desserts possible.

6:15 p.m. - Apr. 21, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

easy go

I get mad/upset pretty easily. It's not a good trait. I seem to spend an unreasonable amount of time dwelling on the bad. In the last 24 hours, I've gotten been grumpy about the Son*ics leaving, someone blocking me in dance class, B going to bed early last night & not being able to talk to him, the new inventory system we have at work, and other general work grumpiness. The range of my emotions on this issue has been from very minor annoyance to being flat out infuriated full red. Reading the list, it's not clear all of them are worth any annoyance whatsoever, and none scream "infuriating." And yet, it's so hard to control my emotional reaction to events. The outward reaction that people see is controllable, but what about the grumbling in my head?

I think "I need a vacation" about 20 times a day, and perhaps I do. However, I thought the same last summer, and at Christmas, and I'm not sure that vacation actually made things any different. Maybe a really long vacation would. Who knows.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not grumpy ALL the time, but probably more than your average bear. If I could change one thing about myself, I don't think I'd be smarter or more generous or more attractive or more fun. I think I might choose to be more easy-going.

12:19 p.m. - Apr. 16, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric