poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Mar. 05, 2008 . Time: 2:37 p.m.

dignifying it with a response, unfortunately Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

dignifying it with a response, unfortunately

The interesting thing about the ridiculous article in the Post is that I clicked on it, started reading it, and closed it without even realizing it was as insulting as it is. Why, you ask?

I read the first two paragraphs going on about women being all googly-eyed about Oba*ma, rolled my eyes in disgust - both at the article and the women in question - closed it and moved on. The author didn't have anything of substance to say. I read this sentence, could barely make heads or tails of it - why is she talking about Oprah again??? - and concluded the author was rambling. "I'm not the only woman who's dumbfounded (as it were) by our sex, or rather, as we prefer to put it, by other members of our sex besides us. It's a frequent topic of lunch, phone and water-cooler conversations; even some feminists can't believe that there's this thing called "The Oprah Winfrey Show" or that Celine Dion actually sells CDs."

As a result, I missed most of the truly insulting parts later on.

Why *did* the Post publish this? In addition to being insulting, it's very poorly written. This is in contrast to most of the articles in the Post.

*sigh*


For those looking for a decent paper, I have to say that I have really been enjoying the WSJ over the past 6 months or so.

2:37 p.m. - Mar. 05, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

deep in the heart of TX

Ah, Texas. How did they vote? Cliff notes below.

Women picked Clinton, and men picked Obama, though by relatively small margins. Big surprise.

Those 39 and under voted Obama, and those over 50 voted Clinton. In between, it was split.

83% of Black voters picked Obama. 70% of Latino Dems and 67% of Latinos voted for Clinton.

Those who attend church more than once a week like Obama. Cathlics like Clinton whereas some Protestants like Obama. The race things probably plays into this.

College grads preferred Obama, while those without a degree like Clinton. Those worried about money like Clinton. Houstonians like Obama. West Texans like Clinton. Yay, West Texas. East Texans like Clinton, too. Looks like an urban / rural divide.

The rich (more than 100K) like Obama. Everyone else likes Clinton.

Those who identified themselves as Democrats preferred Clinton, but those who identified themselves as Republicans liked Obama. Weird.

10:39 p.m. - Mar. 04, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

education in Finland

I found this article about education in Finland very interesting. It seems like it couldn't be more different than education in the US, but seems to work very well.

6:52 p.m. - Mar. 03, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

measles

I found this article from C a little interesting.

My sister and I both had the measles one after another. It's one of my earliest memories. We were in Ireland, and the doctor made house calls (not just for the measles, but in general). When I was sick, I slept on the couch in the living room, and when I got better, she slept on the couch, which my Mom had covered with sheets. I had a temperature of 104, which I think for a child isn't that big of a deal.

We also both got the MMR vaccine, after we got the measles. I think it was required to start school in the US. I'm not sure why we didn't get it in the first place. Maybe it wasn't required in Ireland at the time.

Anyway, I'm generally in favor of vaccines. My first inclination would be to get the vaccine, but I'd also probably try and learn more about it any risks that might be associated with it.

11:41 a.m. - Mar. 01, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

boeing

Boeing's loss is really unfortunate for Seattle.

11:17 a.m. - Mar. 01, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sick

Every time I do a run of 5 miles or longer, which is often, I cross 4 crosswalks twice. 2 of them have lights, which means I cross an unprotected crosswalk 4 times. Everytime I do it, I feel like I'm taking my life in my hands because there are so many drivers who don't pay attention or slow down or seem to notice me. This despite the fact that there are flashing yellow lights above the crosswalks! Therefore, this kind of thing drives me nuts! At the very least, they should have taken away his license permanently. It was the second time he'd hit someone, and the last time he was driving on the wrong side of the road. This time he was on his cell phone and didn't even try and slow down, resulting in the person's death.

The punishment (2 years loss of license and community service) was not more severe because he wasn't drunk. In my opinion, poor driving should be punished - not drunkenness or talking on cell phones. By definition, anyone who is drunk is impaired and driving dangerously. However, a sober person demonstrably driving dangerously should be punished equally severely! If there had been no crosswalk, it would be a very different story. Even if this were the first offence, it would be different.

8:18 a.m. - Feb. 29, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the walls of limerick

I realized yesterday that I must have sprained my ankle on Sunday. It had been hurting all week but I'd been ignoring it because my feet and ankles often hurt. Running is hard on my feet, and Irish dancing is REALLY hard on my feet. We have just started ha*rd shoe - mostly just drills. None of us actually own a pair of hard shoes. "Ha*rd shoe" is basically the Irish version of tap dan*cing, and in my opinion, about a thousand times cooler than any other kind of tap dancing I've seen. Anyway, I'm pretty excited about it. I'm beginning to realize that just like anything else, you get out what you put in, and I have at least one too many hobbies right now. I'm sure if I gave up TV I'd be better, but I'm too lazy to do that.

I have been enjoying work lately. Not all the time, but mostly. It's definitely a significant improvement over late last year and Christmastime, which was very stressful. I've been working more hours as a result. No doubt it's only a matter of time until the pendulum swings the other way.

7:52 p.m. - Feb. 28, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

keeping me company

I ran 9.5 miles on Saturday to give me my first week with over 30 miles of running in a very long time. B came with me, grumbling all the way. He's could do the half marathon no problem given that he's always less tired than me at the end of our runs, but he flat out refuses to run in a race. That's fine with me, but I do think he'd enjoy it. He's doing the hard part - keeping me company on the long runs and showing up on race day. Running the race should be the easy part, right? Maybe not. Anyway, next week is supposed to be an 11 mile run. We took it slow this weekend, so I wasn't that exhausted at the end. I actually felt pretty good. I think the hardest part, actually, is staying in the game mentally. It's really hard to start running knowing you have nearly 10 miles to go.

How many boyfriends do you know who would run 9.5 miles just to keep their girlfriend company? It's really nice.

8:49 a.m. - Feb. 25, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric