poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: 2002-08-20 . Time: 10:05 p.m.

still hiking, getting tired Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

still hiking, getting tired

Jennifer Short is still missing. She is from Roanoke, but there is a nationwide alert for her. Thought I'd post this in case anyone in Texas might have seen her.

Anyway, Maeve has been home the last couple of days, which has been fun. She just took the MCAT's so is trying to get back to normal life after all that studying. Today we went shopping, which was fun. I got a nifty pair of Italian shoes for only $6 and a black shirt from Express at Rugged Warehouse. I love Rugged Warehouse! They sell brandname clothing with errors at really cheap prices. My sister got a dress that was originally $180 for $2. She'll probably wear it to her next formal (ah, the joys of sorority life). Anyway, I also got a pair of trousers at Express, as I had a gift certificate. I love shopping - that was my first trip to a mall since May.

Other than that, I didn't do too much exciting today. I need to start running again, but I so enjoy being lazy . . .

(June 2002, day after hiking trip ended)

We saw the Saw Doctors play last night, which was great. It was really cool to see a band whose MP3s I've listened to play live. We saw them at Dolan's Warehouse. I love that place - it's nice and small and personal, but they have some really cool groups.

Well, Liz and I walked up to the Cliffs of Moher. The weather was absolutely gourgeous to start but then it turned really ugly. Shortly after it started to rain, a guy stopped and offered us a lift but I was feeling cautious so we turned it down. Big mistake. It started absolutely pouring and I discovered that my waterproof trousers aren't actually waterproof. Water-resistant, yes, but waterproof no. That makes me really mad because they were advertised as waterproof.

Anyway, we got to the cliffs eventually, and they were beautiful as usual. However, they'd blocked off the path so we couldn't walk along them. Eventually we gave up and walked back. I'm feeling totally exhausted right now and am wishing John was here. Sigh. I guess I'll be with him soon enough. I've about reached my capacity for starkly beautiful scenery. All I want right now is to be in a warm place with John with no wind and rain.

10:05 p.m. - 2002-08-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric