poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Oct. 23, 2009 . Time: 8:50 a.m.

rant Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rant

They're trying to arrange for us to get the swine flu vaccine at work. Now, despite my comments about not trusting the government, I have no particular interest in getting the swine flu, and I figure getting the vaccine isn't a bad thing even if I wouldn't get the flu anyway, since theoretically I'd get some kind of resistance to it in future like the type we all have normal flus. (That's my theory anyway.) However, I have no intention of trying to get the vaccine because I'm not in the recommended groups. I'm not pregnant, not 25 or younger, and have not had asthma symptoms in years. No doubt some of my co-workers have asthma, and a very small number are under 25, but I know many of them are going to get vaccinated even if they're not in the recommended groups. I think that's pretty lame, personally. There's obviously a shortage, so people in the high risk groups should get priority for the vaccines. When they've been vaccinated and the shortage has passed, the rest of us can line up.

Anyway. Rant over.

8:50 a.m. - Oct. 23, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

shouting and bellowing

I was a little amused at the following excerpt from an article in the NYT about how parents yell at their kids a lot.

Professor Rohner noted that while spanking is considered taboo by the major medical and psychological associations, there are still some religious and conservative groups who support it as an effective disciplinary tool, believing that the Bible explicitly allows it.

But, he said, �There is no group of Americans that advocate yelling as a parenting style.�

Who knows what I'll be like with kids, but I have never been one to raise my voice. I have no idea, but I hate yelling and shouting. I like peace and quiet. (This is one of my biggest concerns about having kids; I'm not sure how I'll handle the noise factor.) When I get really infuriated - I mean really, really infuriated - I don't shout. I vent my fury physically, by, say, kicking the walls. (That is somewhat satisfying, but probably not good for the walls.) For the record, I don't think there's anything wrong with occasional spanking.

I wonder if kids would make me mad enough to yell? Maybe parents don't yell because they're mad but because it's an effective tool to get kids to behave.

1:30 p.m. - Oct. 22, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

traffic safety

On improving traffic safety. The only black note:

Quinn Brackett, senior research scientist with the Texas Transportation Institute's Center for Transportation Safety, says in Texas, deadly accidents involving motorcycle riders have risen 46% since 2005, and now make up some 15% of the state's annual highway fatalities.

In recent years Congress has restricted the NHTSA from pushing against the trend among states of repealing mandatory motorcycle-helmet laws. But if motorcycle fatalities don't start to drop, regulators could seek tighter helmet requirements.

8:49 a.m. - Oct. 21, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric