poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Aug. 26, 2009 . Time: 8:58 a.m.

wind tunnel Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wind tunnel

The end of a wind tunnel.

8:58 a.m. - Aug. 26, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

annoyance

There was an accident last night, and my 8 minute drive took 35 minutes causing me to arrive at the UPS store after it had closed. This was my second attempt! I'm so annoyed. I ordered vases from Amazon, and they Macy's delivered the wrong ones. The box is too big to use a drop-off location, and the first time I tried to drop them off, the UPS store had closed an hour early for renovations. Grumble. Maybe the third attempt will be a charm, but I am never ordering from Macy's again.

8:59 a.m. - Aug. 25, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

public transportation?

I love that Google includes walking directions and public transportation options on their maps. In Seattle, it's useful. In Kent, it's an excellent demonstration of why no one in their right mind would take public transportation (or walk) if they had a car. For example, I need to drop a package off at UPS this evening. According to Google maps, driving will take 8 minutes.


View Larger Map

Public transportation would take nearly 6 times as long -- 45 minutes!


View Larger Map

Alternatively, the ambitious could walk in a mere 1 hour and 23 minutes.

5:04 p.m. - Aug. 24, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tennis

I've really let my yard go this year. If I lived in a neighborhood with a HOA, I'd have been tossed out on my ear. Basically, I've been busy planning for the big day and decided not to garden this year, and I really didn't plant flowers either. As a result, I haven't been particularly motivated to weed. However, I don't want my house to look a disaster when my parents show up, so I spent several hours weeding this weekend. I'm extremely sore today as a result! Who knew weeding was such good exercise.

We went to play tennis on Sunday with the dog. We had the court to ourselves and we just let him run around. It was *very* amusing and cute. He'd chase one ball, and then one of us would miss it, and he'd go chase that ball, and then realize we'd transferred our interest to another ball, and he'd chase that one instead. I recommend giving it a try if you have a dog and a little-used court.

11:32 a.m. - Aug. 24, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric