poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Jul. 16, 2009 . Time: 9:05 a.m.

birds and coffee Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

birds and coffee

Giving Star*bucks new names is a stroke of genius in my opinion. In many places, you want the name. But why not give people the opportunity to feel cool by going to an "independent" (ha) or no-name coffee shop? 15th Avenue Coffee and Tea. I love it.

B and I went kayaking this weekend, our first trip since we had the bright idea to go in the middle of winter and nearly drowned. Well, not quite drowned. But got very wet and a bit nervous. It was a beautiful, hot, calm day, and I saw more great blue herons than I ever have in my life. We must have seen 15 or 20, all very, very close. (We may have seen a few more than once, so who knows how many we actually saw.) It was amazing and so peaceful. *Usually* when we go kayaking, I get all inspired and want to do it more often and learn more technique and so on.

B is back from an out-of-town trip. He told me how happy he was to be back, but is thinking of camping somewhere Thursday night to go hiking on Friday. Camping alone isn't really my cup of tea, but to each their own, I guess.

9:05 a.m. - Jul. 16, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

experiment

I think the Massach*usetts experiment is really great. Hopefully lawmakers are paying attention as they try to decide what to do about healthcare.

10:08 a.m. - Jul. 15, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ginsburg

Incredible article on Ruth Bader Ginsburg. There have been few times that read an interview with someone with whom I agreed more thoroughly. She did an amazing job of making concise and clear points. Wow.

6:51 p.m. - Jul. 08, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric