poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Jun. 11, 2009 . Time: 11:47 a.m.

ireland Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ireland

When I lived in Ireland in 1999 - 2000, there was constant speculation about when the Celtic tiger would end, and calls for "putting money by." There was a minor downturn due to the tech crash, but by and large, the tiger kept going. I don't think anyone then expected it to last as long as it did. However, I think things started changing later, at least in my perception. Maybe people thought economic well-being would be permanent. Most people don't realize that Ireland was basically an economic backwater through the 80s. Emigrating for work was standard practice. This was really the first generation that could confidently stay in the country and expect to live well. This is a little scary.

Economists say things are only going to get worse. Most see unemployment here hitting 17% by the end of next year from a current rate of nearly 12%, with a general government deficit expected to hit 9% of GDP in 2009 and 12.2% of GDP in 2010.

Some of my family over there is heavily involved in banking - my uncle and several of my first cousins worked for B of I. Paddy, my uncle, was apparently very smug initially as they didn't, apparently, make loans to people who couldn't afford them like banks did in the US. Apparently, though, there was a hold in the logic, because Irish banks are worse off in general than US banks.

11:47 a.m. - Jun. 11, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

innocent abroad

This girl is a UW student. From what I've read, it seems clear she's innocent. And yet, from what I've read, it seems very possible she may be convicted. It reminds me of the Duke rape case in many ways.

8:22 a.m. - Jun. 11, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

election

Interesting article on women and the upcoming election in Iran.

11:48 a.m. - Jun. 10, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric