poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Jun. 07, 2009 . Time: 9:01 a.m.

star trek Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

star trek

B and I went to see Star Trek last night. I'd give it a 3.5 out of 5. The special effects were very cool, and I really enjoyed the beginning of the movie. However, it dragged on a bit too long, and the end is really a male romance between Kirk and Spock. That is fine, but as such, it must be judged by the same standards of any romance. Did they have chemistry? No, not really. Did I believe their romance? No, not really. Was the story around their romance believable or contrived? I felt it was somewhat contrived. There was also way too much staring into each other's eyes. If I had to see one more shot of Spock's brooding brown eyes, I think I'd scream.

Next, there were elements of the storyline that were very unrealistic. I'm not sure why movie-makers and writers feel they can throw realism out the window just because a story happens to be based in space, but it happens time after time. First of all, these folks were supposed to be part of a military organization. Here's what I didn't believe - often ambiguous chain of command. Too much authority in very young people. Captains of ships and first mates going into battles - obviously, you don't risk the captain! If you lose the commander, everything can fall apart. Decisions on who goes to fight made on the basis of emotion and how much they cared. A military organization would have special teams for various missions. And mini-skirts for the women? Please. The chief engineer hopping in immediately after getting beamed onto the ship? Where is the old chief engineer?

With all that being said, the early story-line was great. I liked the black hole effects and the space effects in general. The Earth scenes were cool, as well as the icy planet scenes. It's definitely worth watching if you're at all interested in sci-fi or space.

9:01 a.m. - Jun. 07, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

in flight

I'd been kind of excited about the 787 since I'd heard that they'd made changes to the cabin to make it feel more spacious. However, airlines are simply turning around and reducing seat pitch by 1 to 3 inches. *sigh* Flying is never going to be a good experience.

9:50 a.m. - Jun. 04, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric