poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: May. 01, 2009 . Time: 8:31 a.m.

piggy flu Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

piggy flu

An article about swine flu paranoia. I *don't* have swine flu, but I have something. I threw up my dinner last night and am feeling queasy this morning, though I've managed to keep breakfast down. Why do I have such a weak stomach? If I could change one physical body part, I'd trade out my stomach for a stomach of steel. I have one quibble with the article. They describe the popularity of face masks as an indication of paranoia. The thing is, everyone should have face masks. They are inexpensive, don't take much room to store, and will sell out quickly in the case of a real emergency (volcano explosion or pandemic.) I have some in a cabinet in the garage. I think the difference in outcome in most disasters is probably dramatic depending on whether the majority of the population is prepared for minor disruptions - food, water and basic medicines for a few days. And wood if you live in the North and have a fireplace. (I learned that last one the hard way.)

Do you have swine flu?

8:31 a.m. - May. 01, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric