poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Feb. 11, 2009 . Time: 8:44 a.m.

ruptured Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ruptured

I haven't done anything yet for B for V-day. Normally I'm more organized. Any ideas?

My sister ruptured her achilles tendon a few weeks ago. If you've never known someone who's done that, it's very, very bad. Depending on the severity of the injury, it takes a really long time to recover. For my sister, it will be about a year to a mostly completely recovery. She has 8 weeks or more of no weight bearing whatsoever. It turns out to be really difficult not to bear any weight on one leg. She's injured herself in the shower and on the street - the type of injuries that aren't really serious but involve lots of blood and a visit to the doctor. I find this horrifying to hear about. She's doing her MB*A at Stanford, so she has to trek around campus a lot, and Stan*ford is not a small campus. As an MB*A student, half her grade in a class is participation, so not going isn't an option. If it were me, I'd have at least dropped a class and even considered taking a quarter off. Most likely I'd have tried to lighten my course-load. My sister, however, refuses to consider this. She's also the type of person who exercises like crazy and loves it (completely unlike me - I exercise grudgingly and can definitely do without). She's the last person who can handle not being able to run, etc. She did this to herself playing basketball, and I'm not even sure there's a way to avoid it in future.

8:44 a.m. - Feb. 11, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric