poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Feb. 04, 2009 . Time: 4:51 p.m.

Daschle Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Daschle

Interesting article on Daschle.

4:51 p.m. - Feb. 04, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rabbit

I made a sweater for Hen*ry, and Dan*iel took some pictures (no shock there!) I was a little disappointed in the sweater, but the baby makes it look cuter. The rabbit is meant to stay in the pocket.

6:29 p.m. - Feb. 03, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

spanish

In anticipation of my upcoming trip to Peru, I've been studying a bit of Span*ish. I've been using an old book and CDs I got several years ago. I can't remember why I got it. Maybe it was random, maybe when I was dating the Peru*vian. Who knows. In any event, it's an oldish book (copyright 1986 or something like that) and is Castilian Span*ish. The method is memorize conversations, and to understand them when they are spoken on the CD. One conversation is learned every day. While I'm definitely not going to learn a language in the next 6 weeks, I feel that it will be helpful. My experience has been that even a tiny bit of language is a heck of a lot better than nothing, and 5 years of Lat*in definitely helps with Span*ish. In any event, I've learned such not very useful phrases as: "Sabes si hay una gasolinera por aqui?" (Is there a gasoline station nearby? and "Quieres un cigarro? El tabaco negro, en Espana, es caro." (Would you like a cigarette? The black tobacco, in Spain, is expensive! "Mirabo un pajaro y sonaba." (I was watching a bird and I was dreaming.) Anyway, the book attempts to be humorous, and I have to admit I am in fact humored.

11:55 a.m. - Feb. 03, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

stimulus

The WSJ comes through with some nice info about the stimulus package. (Along with bailout, I am coming to detest the word "stimulus."


6:22 p.m. - Feb. 02, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric