poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Jan. 30, 2009 . Time: 8:38 a.m.

850 billion Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

850 billion

There was some limited bipartisanship on Obama's stimulus bill - only not the kind he hoped for. While not a single Repub*lican voted for the bill, 16 or so Dems voted against it. No one mentions that show of solidarity. I'm not sure why I read about politics. I generally end up disgusted.

8:38 a.m. - Jan. 30, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

on places to live

Seat*tle is the third most popular city to live in. On days of sunshine:

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration says Denver officially gets 115 days of pure sunshine a year, a figure that doesn't count partly sunny or partly cloudy days. San Diego gets 146 sunny days a year.

Both of those easily top the average of 58 sunny days recorded at Seattle-Tacoma International Airport.

58 sunny days, eh. I wonder how they measure that. I'd say we get 50 of those in July or August, meaning about 8 sunny days between September and June. However, I can certainly see why Seat*tle is popular. I love living here. I love the mountains and the sound and all the lakes. I like that Seat*tlites are more educated than average. I like all the farming that goes on nearby in the Skag*it Valley and Car*nation and other nearby areas. I like the liberal-ness; I'd rather be out-liberaled (as I am here) than out-conservatived. I like that our major employers are mostly tech - Boe*ing, Amaz*on and Micro*soft. I like islands (the San Ju*ans) and the proximity to Canada's Van*couver, Victo*ria, the Gu*lf Islands and Van*couver Island. And, I like that it's not as crowded as the Bay Area.

Still, there are plenty of other places I'd like to live in. San Di*ego - great weather, ocean - how great would that be? The Bay Area is great - if only it weren't so pricey. I like Vir*ginia/DC - great weather, close to family, beautiful state. When I flew through Salt Lake City, I was blown away by the beauty of the place. I've heard great things about Colorado, though the idea of being landlocked turns me off. Maybe Austin. I'd like to live someplace warm.

8:34 a.m. - Jan. 29, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric