poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Jan. 27, 2009 . Time: 8:50 a.m.

disgruntled Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

disgruntled

This article strikes a cord.

All around us are warnings and legal risks. The modern credo is not "Yes We Can" but "No You Can't." Our sense of powerlessness is pervasive. Those who deal with the public are the most discouraged. Most doctors say they wouldn't advise their children to go into medicine. Government service is seen as a bureaucratic morass, not a noble calling. Make a difference? You can't even show basic human kindness for fear of legal action. Teachers across America are instructed never to put an arm around a crying child.

It's basically a rant against lawyers, but one I can sympathize with.

I booked my ticket to Pe*ru last night. It was the most expensive ticket I've ever bought. I'm excited about the trip, but seriously stressed at work. Taking this vacation may draw some ill-will as it's a busy time, but I haven't had a vacation (excluding visiting the fam at Christmas) that entailed taking off 5 consecutive days (not counting weekends) since 2006. I'm annoyed, envious. Just generally disgruntled. Oh well. I guess the only thing worse than working is not working.

8:50 a.m. - Jan. 27, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric