poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Dec. 20, 2008 . Time: 10:27 p.m.

sunny CA Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sunny CA

I'm disappointed to be missing the biggest snowstorm in Seattle in more than 10 years! But it's so nice and sunny down here in CA . . .

I stood in my old dorm room today. It's getting torn down in a few weeks. I spontaneously started crying. I don't even really know why.

10:27 p.m. - Dec. 20, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

icy travel

Unbelievable. Two buses nearly fell off an overpass onto the highway due to ice. Scary.

Yesterday, I made the foolish decision at about 4 PM to go out and get my dry cleaning and try to buy stamps. In my defense, the drive is about 1 mile and I "needed" both before departing on my trip today. I didn't make it up the hill to get out of my neighborhood, which, due to the lack of plows, ice or sand in Ke*nt, is sheet ice and likely to remain that way for a while yet. I ended up having to back down the hill, which was a bit unpleasant because there were an SUV attempting to get up the hill as well, people occasionally going down the hill, and kids around. Needless to say, I didn't get my stamps. I found an alternate route out today (basically the last available option) which had a higher probability of success, but a much worse downside if I hadn't made it up the hill. (Steeper, narrower, busier, but less icy.) Fortunately, I made it.

Now for the stomach-churning joy of holiday travel.

2:16 p.m. - Dec. 19, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

going quietly

Everyone wants this guy to go quietly into the good night lest he embarrass Ob*ama. It seems he's not going to. I'm OK with that - innocent until proven guilty, right? Don't get me wrong; I have no patience for corrupt politicians, but he has a right to due process just like Sen. Ste*vens did. It seems likely he is guilty, which makes me wonder if he's completely off his rocker or if Illi*nois politics are so dirty he thinks he's lost his perspective.

12:23 p.m. - Dec. 19, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric