poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Nov. 04, 2008 . Time: 9:56 p.m.

victory Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

victory

Well, Barack Obama is our new president-elect! I have been lukewarm on him, mostly because of my support for Hillary, but I did support him over McCain.

Since I was 8, I have always supported the losing presidential candidate. (I supported Dukakis, HW Bush, Dole, no preference (in Ireland at the time), and Kerry.) It's nice to have my guy win for a change. It is time for a change, much as I have grown tired of that word, and Obama, I think, is basically a good guy, and smart guy. (I think Bush was basically a good guy, but NOT a smart guy.)

I love that he won in dramatic fashion. I love that he took Vir*ginia, and broke the Mason-Dickson divide. I hope he takes North Caro*lina and maybe Indiana and Montana as well. I hope that this election changes the way the country is divided and forces the Republicans to come up with a new theme other than religious conservatism.

I hope Obama belies his record and does reach across the aisle - but not on abortion (or judges), or wire-tapping, or attacking a foreign nation. I hope he keeps his taxation promises.

9:56 p.m. - Nov. 04, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

election night

Obama is killing McCain in terms of electoral votes. (Let's not forget that Hillary got more popular votes than Obama.) In any event, the popular vote is too close to call at this point.

I'm eager to see . . .


if Virginia will go for Obama
who will win the Washington governor's race
if I985 will pass
if the Dems will get 60 seats in the Senate

I'm SO sick of the ads and the lead-up, but I love the excitement of a good election night, especially since I moved to Washington. We always have tons of stuff on the ballot.

6:27 p.m. - Nov. 04, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

in their own words

In their own words: Barack and John McCain.

10:43 a.m. - Nov. 04, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

running fever

I've often thought about running a marathon. I especially think about running one twice a year - at the time the New Y*ork and Bo*ston Marathons are run. (Lon*don, Chic*ago and others are interesting as well, of course.) This year, my all-time running hero, Paula Rad*cliffe won again. More pictures here.

I'm sure the reality of running a marathon is intensely painful, and that doesn't even take into account the slogging hundreds or even thousands of miles in training. Still, NY and Bos*ton really capture my imagination. If I was going to run a big city marathon, I think it'd have to be NY or Lon*don, and New Yo*rk is a lot closer. (I think Lon*don is flatter and may have better weather.) I'd also love to qualify for Bos*ton, but my half marathon time, when doubled, is not even fast enough to qualify. (HM time 1:51, qualifying time: 3:40.) I'd also like to qualify before I turn 36 because the qualifying times drop off after 35, and it just doesn't seem as worthwhile.

I think the way to do it would be to train through the winter for a spring half marathon, targeting a time of between 1:40 and 1:45 depending on conditions and how flat the course was. Then, train through the summer and run a fall marathon to qualify. The fall marathon would preferably be flat, which NYC isn't. However, I'd like to run NY sometime, and I'm not interesting in running more than 2 or 3 marathons, total. (Of course, I wouldn't necessarily qualify, and that would solve this problem.)

I usually get over these ambitions within a few weeks. ;)


5:27 p.m. - Nov. 03, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric