poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Oct. 22, 2008 . Time: 8:18 a.m.

straight ticket Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

straight ticket

I voted over the weekend, absentee ballot. Some parts of Washing*ton are either already or going to be all absentee in the next election. It's great. We get to vote on all kinds of things and people, so it took me about an hour and a half of focused effort to vote. If you think that's long, I discussed it with a co-worker, and he said it takes him much longer.

I've actually never voted in person, but I think it would be a pain. You'd half to read the entire booklet and write down your choices, which seems sketchy, or you'd have to spend an hour and a half standing to vote. We probably had to vote on forty items.

I guess you could just vote straight ticket, which is what some people probably do.

The hardest choice was the governor's race. The same two candidates were in the race four years ago, and I couldn't decide then, and having seen one of the candidates in office for four years didn't really help me decide. The last election was decided by about 100 votes after two recounts, so it's the one election in which I guess my vote really counts.

8:18 a.m. - Oct. 22, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric