poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Oct. 07, 2008 . Time: 8:20 a.m.

lack of patience Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lack of patience

My parents left this morning at 5 o'clock. I got up to see them go, then went back to bed in a daze. Unfortunately, tomorrow I have to get up at 5 and stay up to get in early for work. However, I'm taking Friday off. Woo hoo. It'll be the first official vacation day I've taken since I've been working here for which I didn't have plans. I'm kind of exhausted, and I have a use-it-or-lose-it vacation day, so I'm just going to stay home and take it easy. If I make it that far.

The economic goings-ons kind of suck, considering I have been hoping to make a move. First, moving costs a lot of money, usually, and I'd probably have to sell some stock to take care of my house and so on. Second, it's not a great time to not have a reliable job. Hopefully things will improve in the next few months. I remember late 2001 and spring 2002 when I graduated being kind of like this, and things got a lot better within 6 months. However, my patience is very short right now.

8:20 a.m. - Oct. 07, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

open to all

The Un*a Voce group of Cath*olic extremists has gotten a parish in Seattle, approved by Bene*dict himself.

Think Mus*lims are the only one advocating disrimination against women with religious justification? Mais non! I went to the Una Voce website, and stumbled upon this. Straight from the Bible:


For if a
woman is not veiled, let her also be shorn: but if it is a shame to a woman
to be shorn or shaven, let her be veiled. For a man indeed ought not to
have his head veiled, forasmuch as he is the image and glory of God: but
the woman is the glory of the man. (1 Cor 11:3-15 subset)

Things like this make me glad I'm dating a guy who basically hates religion. The downside - attending church by myself when I feel compelled to go. The upside - complete lack of religious-justified hangups.

If you read through their website (UV), you find old church citations advocating, among other things, all-male choirs, forbidding women to offer commentary at church, forbidding altar gi*rls, and so on. (As a child, I was glad altar gi*rls were forbidden at my church, since I did not want to be one, and would have been forced if my father had thought it was appropriate for girls, and it was allowed.)

8:12 a.m. - Oct. 06, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric