poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Sept. 15, 2008 . Time: 3:32 p.m.

reading list Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

reading list

Ah, the WSJ. How I've missed you. First, on Palin. I don't agree with all of it, as usual, but the author makes some good and obvious points. "I disagree with Sarah Palin on a number of issues, including abortion rights. But when the feminist establishment treats not only pro-life feminism but small-government, individualist feminism as heresy, it writes off multitudes of women."

On taxes and income. I'm not sure I agree with this: "America is still an opportunity society where talent and hard work can (almost always) overcome one's position at birth or at any point in time." I'd change "almost always" to "sometime." OK, maybe it's "almost always" given sufficient talent - but talent is not something you can get if you're born without it. How much talent is necessary? Certainly too much 200 years ago, or 100 years ago. Probably too much today as well.

Don't panic. I'm not panicking, but I'm nervous. Nervous, but investing, cautiously. Fortunately, I never felt the need to diversify into banking. I'm not sure why. In fact, I looked at Lehman Brothers many a time, but for some reason, I always passed them over. It wasn't wisdom, just chance. I guess I was lucky.

On the surge. Personally, I never thought it would work. I was very wrong, and I'm very glad. I was definitely among those who thought Iraq was hopeless.


3:32 p.m. - Sept. 15, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

not leaving

I really cannot believe stories like this (from CNN):

Galveston spokeswoman Mary Jo Naschke estimated Friday morning that just over half of the city's 58,000 people had been evacuated.

Others chose to stay.

"I've decided not to evacuate," said iReporter Matteu Erchull on Galveston Island. "We have a lot of faith in the seawall, and we have boards on the windows. Most people on the island live on second or third stories, so they don't have to worry about the water so much.

Is this guy insane?

7:20 a.m. - Sept. 12, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

preparation

Wow, this hurricane sounds pretty unbelievable. I guess life is more exciting - and potentially more unpleasant - in the hurricane zones.

Ever since the power debacle a year and a half ago where I lost power for a week and the temperature of my house was down around 40 for 3 days with less than 8 hours of daylight per day (all of which I spent at work) and no wood (for the fireplace) to be had - anywhere, I have basically no trust in the government to take care of me. Perhaps that's the right attitude. Obviously, they can't really do anything about the hurricane charging towards Hou*ston. Anyway, I've been stocking up on nonperishable food and also on water. Obviously, communication and medicine are the other two things that need to be taken care of. I'm thinking a large gas can will have to stand in for actually purchasing gas since it seems foolhardy to store flammable items in my house. I also bought wood, for heat. I've thought about putting in gas logs but haven't done it yet. (I'd be more likely to burn the house down than actually use the gas in an emergency.) Defense is the last problem and one I don't really plan to address.

Am I crazy? Maybe. But I am not the only one taking these kinds of steps after being very, very cold the winter before last. When it snows in Ke*nt, once or twice a winter, they don't plow or put down salt in my neighborhood. We drive on sheet ice until it melts. As mentioned, winds of 40 to 50 mph caused loss of power for up to 3 weeks in some areas. B is totally on board with the preparation plan. Anybody know any good books on the subject?

6:30 a.m. - Sept. 12, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric