poisonwood's Diaryland Diary

Date: Sept. 10, 2008 . Time: 12:25 p.m.

palin again Entry:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

palin again

In general, I agree with this commentary on Palin.

12:25 p.m. - Sept. 10, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the meaning of the word

I found those who say Sarah Pa*lin isn't a feminist a little insulting. Feminism is not, shockingly enough, decided purely on the basis of one's position on abortion. There are MANY aspects to feminism, and someone running for the 2nd highest political office in the country is by definition, a feminist.

Was Bhut*to of Paki*stan a feminist? Of course. But I bet she rejected may of the American traditional definitions of feminism.

Personally, I started calling myself a feminist at 6 because I didn't want to take my future husband's last name and because I didn't want to be a housewife like most of the women I was exposed to, including my mother. I was pro-life until my late teens, but passionately for the advancement of women. No doubt NOW would have scorned the former me, just as they'd embrace the current me because of my changes on a couple of issues.

Abortion rights are not the only issue facing women today. Many might consider them the *most* important issue and should vote accordingly. Others, like myself, simply think feminism isn't the most important issue facing us right now and will vote accordingly (not for Palin). However, I'd argue that underrepresentation in the highest positions, political and in business, that this country has to offer is a huge problem for women. Pa*lin is hitting that one head on.

The real question is whether Sarah Pa*lin calls herself a feminist. I fear she may be afraid to take the label, but then Hi*llary didn't exactly embrace it on a regular basis either.

5:23 a.m. - Sept. 09, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pa*lin part ii

Many, especially Demo*crats, say Pal*in is underqualified and should not have been nominated. The Repub*licans should have nominated a more qualified candidate, they say.

Well, let's look at the options. Let's start by baselining a senator or governor. The majority of presidents or veeps come from one of those two categories. Here are the choices:

1.) Pal*in, governor or Alas*ka
2.) Jodi Re*ll, governor of Connectic*ut since 2004. Not elected - got position after governor resigned due to corruption charges.
3.) Linda Lin*gle of Hawa*ii, governor since 2002.
4.) Lisa Mur*kowski, senator of Ala*ska since 2002
5.) Olym*pia Snowe, senator of Mai*ne since 1995
6.) Susan Co*llins, senator of Mai*ne since 1997
7.) Elizabeth Do*le, senator of North Carol*ina since 2003
8.) Kay Hutchi*son, senator of Te*xas since 1993

Basically, it's a very short list. Compare this to the list of male candidates (142 vs. 8). After the people McCa*in doesn't like or get along with and those with undesirable policies, and the list gets even shorter.

8:51 a.m. - Sept. 08, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

older entires

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jthebear
artemis1979
phiae01
duskone
atreewithin
wicked-sezzy
rainfly
squishyvan
this-bean
healthytobe
vicunja
rhetoric